What happens when you install macOS Sierra?

Does macOS Sierra delete everything?

Don’t worry; it won’t affect your files, data, apps, user settings, etc. Only a fresh copy of macOS High Sierra will be installed on your Mac again. … A clean install will delete everything associated with your profile, all your files, and documents, while the reinstall will not.

What happens if I reinstall macOS Sierra?

After reinstallation has completed, macOS Sierra / High Sierra will automatically boot up as usual. … Reinstalling will cause Spotlight and other background indexing processes to run again which can give the perception that Sierra is running slow but that will resolve itself after indexing has completed.

Do you lose files when updating macOS?

No. Generally speaking, upgrading to a subsequent major release of macOS doesn’t erase/touch user data. Pre-installed apps and configurations too survive the upgrade. Upgrading macOS is a common practise and carried out by lot of users every year when a new major version is released.

How long does macOS Sierra take to install?

The macOS High Sierra installation time should take about 30 to 45 minutes to complete if everything works right.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: What code does iOS run on?

Can I install high Sierra without losing data?

To reinstall macOS Sierra without losing data, another way to do it is through iCloud and DropBox. You can also utilize external hard drives to back your data up. Another thing you might want to do before the reinstallation of the macOS Sierra is to clean your device of junk, including clean the application cache.

How do I reinstall macOS after wipe?

Restart your Mac. Choose Apple menu > Shut Down, press and hold the power button until “Loading startup options” appears, select Options, click Continue, then follow the onscreen instructions. In the Recovery app window, select Reinstall for your macOS release, click Continue, then follow the onscreen instructions.

How do you make sure your Mac is backed up?

How to Back Up Mac to iCloud

  1. Click the Apple icon.
  2. Open System Preferences.
  3. Click on Apple ID.
  4. Select iCloud in the menu on the left if it isn’t already selected. …
  5. Click to check the box next to iCloud Drive if it’s not already checked.
  6. Click the Options button next to iCloud Drive.

Does installing a new iOS delete everything?

Though Apple’s iOS updates are not suppose to delete any user information from the device, exceptions arise. To bypass this threat of losing information, and to quell any anxiety that may accompany that fear, back up your iPhone before doing an update.

What happens if you don’t backup your Mac before updating?

If you do not back up the entire Mac, you will not be able to restore your currently working Mac if anything goes wrong during the upgrade (or if you don’t like it). You should always backup whatever you are not willing to lose.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Where do I find move to iOS?

What happens when you update macOS?

When Software Update says that your Mac is up to date, then macOS and all of the apps it installs are up to date, including Safari, Messages, Mail, Music, Photos, FaceTime, and Calendar.

Categories IOS