How do I reset my Android tablet to factory settings?

How do you hard reset an Android tablet?

Hold down the Power button and tap Volume Up. You’ll see the Android system recovery menu appear at the top of your screen. Select wipe data / factory reset with the volume keys and tap the Power button to activate it. Select Yes – erase all user data with the volume buttons and tap Power.

What is the difference between hard reset and factory reset?

A factory reset relates to the rebooting of the entire system, while hard resets relates to the resetting of any hardware in the system. Factory Reset: Factory resets are generally done to remove the data entirely from a device, the device is to be started again and requires the need of re installation of the software.

Does a factory reset delete everything?

A factory data reset erases your data from the phone. While data stored in your Google Account can be restored, all apps and their data will be uninstalled. To be ready to restore your data, make sure that it’s in your Google Account.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are the different ViewGroup in Android?

How do I restore my Android to factory settings?

How to perform Factory Reset on Android smartphone?

  1. Tap Apps.
  2. Tap Settings.
  3. Tap Backup and reset.
  4. Tap Factory data reset.
  5. Tap Reset Device.
  6. Tap Erase Everything.

How do I remove a Google account from my tablet after factory reset?

To do so, follow the below-given steps:

  1. Launch the device “Settings” app and scroll to the Apps.
  2. Click on the “Manage apps” (applications) and select the “All” tab.
  3. Look for the “Google App” and click on it.
  4. Tap on the “Clear cache” to remove the Google account cache.
  5. Also, clear all data to remove data stored in an app.

How do you reset a tablet if you forgot the password?

In the Android system recovery screen, use the Volume Down (-) button to highlight the Reset to factory settings option. Quickly press the Power button. In the Reset to factory settings: Confirm reset screen, use the Volume Down (-) button to highlight the Yes — delete all user data option.

What are the disadvantages of factory reset?

But if we reset our device because we noticed that its snappiness has slowed down, the biggest drawback is the loss of data, so it is essential to backup all your data, contacts, photos, videos, files, music, before resetting.

Is factory reset same as format?

So basically, the difference between the two is that reformatting is freeing up space on your computers disk drive by wiping a partition that was previously formatted and allowing new info to be stored on the computer, where the computer reset (remove everything) is the same thing but additionally will sometimes offer …

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why is my keyboard slow when I type android?

What are the benefits of factory reset android?

Data like contacts, photos, apps, your cache and anything else that you saved onto the device ever since you started using it will be cleared from it. It will not remove the device’s operating system (iOS, Android, Windows Phone) but will go back to its original set of apps and settings.

How do you erase everything on a tablet?

This process erases the data on your smartphone or tablet.

  1. Open your phone or tablet’s Settings app.
  2. Tap System > Advanced > Reset options. …
  3. Tap Erase all data (factory reset) > Erase all data. …
  4. Select Erase all data again. …
  5. Once the erasing process is finished, set up your device and restore your backed-up data.

Will a factory reset delete my Google account?

Performing a Factory Reset will permanently delete all user data on the smartphone or tablet. Be sure to back up your data before performing a Factory Reset. Before performing a reset, if your device is operating on Android 5.0 (Lollipop) or higher, please remove your Google Account (Gmail) and your screen lock.

How do you do a hard reset?

Turn off the phone and then press and hold the Volume Up key and Power key simultaneously until the Android system recover screen appears. Use the Volume Down key to highlight the “wipe data/factory reset” option and then use the Power button to make the selection.